NBC’s Virtual Reality 2018 Olympics Schedule & Supported Devices

nbc-vr-olympics-app-logoNBC will be providing a variety of ways to watch the 2018 Olympics from PyeongChang, South Korea, such as in 4k resolution with HDR (High Dynamic Range), streaming on mobile devices, and in VR (Virtual Reality).

This will be the first Winter Olympics with virtual reality as a viewing option, and NBC plans over 50 hours of live VR that can be experienced on Google, Windows, Samsung, Android & iOS Devices using the free NBC Sports VR app.

To view the VR broadcasts, powered by Intel True VR technology, authenticated users can use Windows Mixed Reality headsets, Samsung Gear VR, or either Google Cardboard or Google Daydream with compatible iOS or Android devices.

NBC will offer over 50 hours of live VR programming provided to NBC Olympics through its partner Olympic Broadcasting Services (OBS). Events will include the Opening and Closing Ceremonies, alpine skiing, curling, snowboarding, skeleton, figure skating, short track, ski jumping, ice hockey, big air and more.

NBC Olympics will also offer VR replays of all events previously that were previously streamed live; one daily 360-degree video of a sport not available in VR the previous day; and packaged highlights from the day before.

2018 Olympics VR Live Schedule:

Date Coverage Time (ET)
Fri., Feb. 9 Opening Ceremony 8 p.m.*
Alpine Skiing (Men’s Downhill – Training) 9 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 10 Alpine Skiing (Men’s Downhill) 9 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 11 Curling (Mixed Doubles Semifinal) 7:05 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 12 Curling (Mixed Doubles Semifinal) 6:05 a.m.
Snowboard Halfpipe (Women’s Final) 8 p.m.
Snowboard Halfpipe (Men’s Qualifying) 11 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 13 Snowboard Halfpipe (Men’s Final) 8:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 14 Figure Skating (Pairs’ Free) 8:30 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 15 Skeleton (Men’s Final) 7:30 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 16 Skeleton (Women’s Runs) 6:20 a.m.
Figure Skating (Men’s Free) 8 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 17 Short Track (Men’s and Women’s) 5 a.m.
Alpine Skiing (Men’s Giant Slalom) 8:15 p.m.
Alpine Skiing (Men’s Giant Slalom) 11:45 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 18
Mon., Feb. 19 Ski Jumping (Men’s LH Team) 7:30 a.m.
Figure Skating (Ice Dance) 8 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 20 Alpine Skiing (Women’s Downhill) 9 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 21 Ice Hockey (Women’s Gold Medal Final) 11:10 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 22 Big Air (Women’s Final) 7:30 p.m.
Fri., Feb. 23 Big Air (Men’s Final) 8 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 24 Ice Hockey (Men’s Gold Medal Final) 11:10 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 25 Closing Ceremony 8 p.m.*

*Indicates same-day delay

[Editors Note: This article was incorrectly titled with “2008” and updated to “2018.”]

Share this post

PinIt
hdreport

hdreport

HD Report provides news, commentary, and information about 4k & HD channels, programming, digital media, Blu-ray, technology, video gaming, and more. We have been a Google News partner since 2006, and can also be found on Twitter, Google+, and Facebook.

2 Replies to “NBC’s Virtual Reality 2018 Olympics Schedule & Supported Devices”

  1. HD Report says:

    Thanks for the correction Tom…ouch!

  2. Tom Enright says:

    So it lets you travel back in time to 2008? Amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top