Home How To Tech Tip: Enable HDMI-CEC On Your TV

Tech Tip: Enable HDMI-CEC On Your TV

Image: Amazon

Find yourself scrambling for multiple remote controls every time you want to change your TV source? HDMI Consumer Electronics Control (HDMI-CEC) is a feature of television sets that allows up to 15 devices to communicate with your TV, and with each other, via HDMI. It means, for example, switching to a device like a Roku is as easy as turning it on.

CEC is based on the AV.link protocol (also known by other trade names such as SmartLink and Q-Link), and if you want to get super geeky is enabled through the 13th Pin on a standard HDMI cable (one of three reserved for communications). The feature goes way back to the first HDMI specification (Version 1.0) but really only used in consumer electronics starting with HDMI 1.3a (which also added timer and audio commands).

The problem is TV manufacturers have different ways of identifying HDMI-CEC, and many sets are shipped with the feature disabled. And, while HDMI-CEC wiring is required for new TVs implementation of the feature is optional.

To be sure HDMI-CEC is enabled on your TV go to the settings and look for the brand and associated trade name(s) for CEC listed below.

  • AOC: E-link
  • Hitachi: HDMI-CEC
  • Insignia: (INlink)
  • ITT: T-Link
  • LG: SimpLink
  • Mitsubishi: NetCommand for HDMI
  • Onkyo: RIHD (Remote Interactive over HDMI)
  • Panasonic: HDAVI Control, EZ-Sync, or VIERA Link
  • Philips: EasyLink
  • Pioneer: Kuro Link
  • Runco International: RuncoLink
  • Samsung: Anynet+
  • Sharp: Aquos Link
  • Sony: BRAVIA Sync and BRAVIA Sync
  • Toshiba: CE-Link and Regza Link
  • Vizio: CEC

For a list of common HDMI-CEC commands see this page.

HD Report provides news, commentary, and information about home entertainment media and technology. HD Report has been a Google News partner since 2006, and can also be found on Twitter, Apple News, Facebook, and Microsoft's Bing News.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4k TV Deals

Sony X1 4k HDR TV

Hot Pre-orders!

Game of Thrones: The Complete Series 4k Blu-ray
Back to the Future 35th Anniversary 4k Blu-ray giftset
Mission: Impossible - The Original TV Series Blu-ray
Stanley Kubrick 3-Film Collection  4k Blu-ray

1-Month Free!

Hot Blu-rays!

New Articles

Yellowstone Season 3 Blu-ray & DVD Release Date & Details

Paramount has announced the release date of the third season of Yellowstone to Blu-ray and DVD will be December 8, 2020. The Blu-ray and DVD...

Our Favorite New Amazon Products, Prices & Release Dates

Amazon has announced several new products for internet connectivity, home entertainment, and Alexa voice control. The first of which we'll mention is the new...

Disney Announces Updates to MCU Phase 4 Movie Schedule

Disney has announced updates to several films that are part of Phase 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The first film in Phase 4, Black...

Four Eddie Murphy Films from the 80s Remastered in 4k

Paramount has remastered four hit Eddie Murphy films from the 80s for release on 4k Blu-ray and Blu-ray. The films arrive on disc (and...

Support Us!