Upcoming hi-def movie premieres on HDNet Movies

HDNet Movies has several U.S. high-definition television premieres this month. The movies include: “The Answer Man” (Jeff Daniels, Lauren Graham), “Captain Corelli’s Mandolin” (Nicolas Cage, Penelope Cruz, Christian Bale), “Cocaine Cowboys” (Billy Corben), “Jurassic Park III” (Sam Neill, William H. Macy, Tea Leoni), “So Close” (Shu Qi, Zhao Wei, Karen Mok) and “World’s Greatest Dad” (Robin Williams, Alexie Gilmore, Daryl Sabara).

For most television subscribers, HDNet and HDNet Movies are offered free-of-charge with high-definition tiers. Unfortunately for Time Warner Cable subscribers, both channels were recently pulled from the lineup.

Here is a full schedule of new movies for July:

ALL ABOUT THE BENJAMINS
Cast: Ice Cube, Michael Epps, Eva Mendes Director: Kevin Bray
A bounty hunter teams with the conman he was tracking when they both witness a diamond heist.
R – 2002 –
Sat., Jul. 25 – 8:15 PM ET / 5:15 PM PT
Sun., Jul. 26 – 12:15 AM ET / Sat., Jul. 25 – 9:15 PM PT

THE ANSWER MAN
Cast: Jeff Daniels, Lauren Graham, Lou Taylor Pucci Director: John Hindman
Arlen Faber, author of the spiritual guidebook “Me & God”, enjoys his reclusive lifestyle until he is outed by a single mother and a recovering drug addict seeking advice.
R – 2009 –
Wed., Jul. 22 – 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT
Wed., Jul. 22 – 9:45 PM ET / 6:45 PM PT
Wed., Jul. 22 – 11:30 PM ET / 8:30 PM PT

CAPTAIN CORELLI’S MANDOLIN
Cast: Nicolas Cage, Penelope Cruz, Christian Bale Director: John Madden
During World War II, an Italian soldier falls in love with a local girl while stationed in Greece. But, when Italy falls to the Allies, both must choose between love and country.
R – 2001 –
Tue., Jul. 21 – 2:15 PM ET / 11:15 AM PT

CARLITO’S WAY
Cast: Al Pacino, Sean Penn, Penelope Ann Miller Director: Brian De Palma
Al Pacino stars as Carlito, a former Puerto Rican gangster trying to go straight after being released from prison. Carlito has trouble adjusting to the changes in his neighborhood and pressures that threaten to send him back into a life of crime.
R – 1993 –
Sun., Jul. 26 – 4:15 AM ET / 1:15 AM PT

COCAINE COWBOYS
Director: Billy Corben
Billy Corben’s documentary examines “The Cocaine Cowboys,” a set of ruthless Colombians that fueled the Miami cocaine trade in 1980’s.
R – 2006 –
Thu., Jul. 23 – 5:00 AM ET / 2:00 AM PT

COPYCAT
Cast: Sigourney Weaver, Holly Hunter, Dermot Mulroney Director: Jon Amiel
A pair of detectives work with an agoraphobic psychologist to track a serial killer who copies the habits of killers past.
R – 1995 –
Tue., Jul. 21 – 4:20 AM ET / 1:20 AM PT

DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS
Cast: Denzel Washington, Tom Sizemore, Jennifer Beals Director: Carl Franklin
When an African American looking for work is hired to find a missing white woman, he walks into a complicated world of politics, dirty cops, and corruption.
R – 1995 –
Tue., Jul. 21 – 6:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM PT
Wed., Jul. 22 – 5:05 AM ET / 2:05 AM PT

ESCAPE FROM ALCATRAZ
Cast: Clint Eastwood, Patrick McGoohan, Roberts Blossom Director: Don Siegel
Frank Morris leads the first and only jail break in the history of the notorious Alcatraz Prison. Based on a true story.
PG – 1979 – – english
Sat., Jul. 25 – 2:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM PT

FIRE IN THE SKY
Cast: D.B. Sweeney, Robert Patrick, Craig Sheffer Director: Robert Lieberman
Based on a true story about a group of loggers who claim that their friend was abducted by aliens.
PG-13 – 1993 –
Mon., Jul. 20 – 6:15 PM ET / 3:15 PM PT

FOREVER YOUNG
Cast: Mel Gibson, Jamie Lee Curtis, Elijah Wood Director: Steve Miner
After his girlfriend goes into a coma, a test pilot agrees to be cryogenically frozen for a year, but instead stays asleep for 53 years.
PG – 1992 –
Wed., Jul. 22 – 2:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM PT

A FUNNY THING HAPPENED ON THE WAY TO THE FORUM
Cast: Zero Mostel, Phil Silvers, Buster Keaton Director: Richard Lester
In ancient Rome, a lazy slave tries to gain his freedom by helping his master’s dim-witted son woo a virgin set to marry an a decorated Roman soldier.
NR – 1966 – – english
Thu., Jul. 23 – 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT

GOOD MORNING, VIETNAM
Cast: Robin Williams, Forest Whitaker, Bruno Kirby Director: Barry Levinson
A new DJ for a military radio station lands himself in hot water when he uses the airwaves to expose the truth surrounding the Vietnam War.
R – 1987 –
Thu., Jul. 23 – 1:15 AM ET / Wed., Jul. 22 – 10:15 PM PT
Thu., Jul. 23 – 4:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM PT

KING COBRA
Cast: Pat Morita, Scott Brandon, Casey Fallo Director: David Hillenbrand
A small California town is terrorized by a killer mutant snake.
R – 1999 –
Fri., Jul. 24 – 5:00 AM ET / 2:00 AM PT

THE MAN WITHOUT A FACE
Cast: Mel Gibson, Nick Stahl, Gaby Hoffman Director: Mel Gibson
A boy with dreams of attending a prestigious military school forms a bond with his tutor, a reclusive man with a burnt face and dubious past.
PG-13 – 1993 –
Tue., Jul. 21 – 8:10 AM ET / 5:10 AM PT

PICNIC (1955)
Cast: William Holden, Kim Novak, Betty Field Director: Joshua Logan
Drifter Hal Carter causes problems in a small town when the girlfriend of an affluent old college friend falls in love with him.
NR – 1955 –
Tue., Jul. 21 – 10:05 AM ET / 7:05 AM PT

RETURN TO ME
Cast: David Duchovny, Minnie Driver, Carroll O’Connor Director: Bonnie Hunt
A man recovering from the loss of his wife finds comfort in Grace, a woman recovering from a heart transplant.
PG – 2000 –
Wed., Jul. 22 – 3:45 PM ET / 12:45 PM PT

SINGLES
Cast: Bridget Fonda, Cambell Scott, Kyra Sedgwick Director: Cameron Crowe
The angst ridden twenty-something residents of an apartment complex attempt to navigate careers and relationships in early 1990s Seattle.
PG-13 – 1992 –
Mon., Jul. 20 – 1:05 PM ET / 10:05 AM PT
Sun., Jul. 26 – 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT

SO CLOSE
Cast: Shu Qi, Zhao Wei, Karen Mok Director: Corey Yuen
Two assassin sisters are hired to kill the chairman of a Chinese corporation. After their work is done, the sisters must evade a detective on their trail while being hunted by the people who hired them in the first place.
R – 2002 – – Mandarin (English Subtitles)
Tue., Jul. 21 – 8:15 PM ET / 5:15 PM PT
Wed., Jul. 22 – 12:00 AM ET / Tue., Jul. 21 – 9:00 PM PT

STARGATE
Cast: Kurt Russell, James Spader, Viveca Lindfors Director: Roland Emmerich
A symbologist leads a team of soldiers through a mysterious portal that leads to a distant galaxy, where they must protect a group of slaves while trying to figure out how to return home.
PG-13 – 1994 –
Thu., Jul. 23 – 9:35 PM ET / 6:35 PM PT
Fri., Jul. 24 – 1:20 AM ET / Thu., Jul. 23 – 10:20 PM PT

Share this post

PinIt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top