What is Ultra HD TV?

VIZIO P-Series Quantum 75-inch 4K HDR Smart TV - P759-G1

Ultra HD TV, also referred to as 4k, UHD, UHD TV, and sometimes Quad HD, is a video format with a resolution of 3840 × 2160 with 8.3 megapixels. The format is 4-times the previous Full HD standard of 1920 x 1080p with 2.1 megapixels, and even higher than lower HD formats 720p and 1080i.

4k Ultra HD compared to SD, HD & Full HD
4k Ultra HD compared to SD, HD & Full HD

Ultra HD TV is slowly being adopted by television networks, who typically broadcast in the lower HD resolutions of 720p (progressive scan) or 1080i (interlaced). However, TV some TV providers do offer some On Demand content in 4k (see 4k channels), and streaming video services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime also have some content in 4k. Blu-ray Discs are 1080p, but a new standard was announced in May, 2015 that will bring 4K Blu-ray Discs to market.

Ultra HD resolution was defined on Oct. 17, 2012 when the CEA (Consumer Electronics Association) announced the term Ultra HD (Ultra High-Definition) would be used for displays with a resolution of 3840 × 2160. But in most cases, consumer electronics manufacturers refer to Ultra HD sets also as 4k TVs, as the term is used more widely to describe the technology.

Shop for 4k Ultra HD TV deals at Amazon!

The next jump in video resolution is 8k UHDTV at 7680 × 4320 (33.2 megapixels) which is 16-times the current HDTV standard.

Also Read:
What is 4k Ultra HD resolution?
Is 4k resolution the same as 2160p?
What is HDR?
What is 8k Ultra HD TV?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.