List of IMAX Enhanced Movies On Disney+

IMAX Enhanced Movies On Disney Plus

What Movies Can You Watch In IMAX Enhanced Format On Disney+? 

Want to know which movies are available in IMAX Enhanced format? And, where IMAX enhanced movies can be watched? Disney+ is currently the only streaming service that offers streaming in IMAX Enhanced mode for select movies. As of January, 2024 there are a total of 19 movies available in the format. And, every title is part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (from Marvel Studios) with the exception of Lightyear (2022). The Marvels (2023) will likely be the next title available in IMAX Enhanced on Disney+.  

IMAX Enhanced Movies On Disney+

  1. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  2. Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania (2023)
  3. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  4. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  5. Black Panther (2018)
  6. Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (2022)
  7. Black Widow (2021)
  8. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  9. Captain Marvel (2019)
  10. Doctor Strange (2016)
  11. Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (2022)
  12. Eternals (2021)
  13. Iron Man (2008)
  14. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  15. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  16. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (2023)
  17. Lightyear (2022)
  18. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)
  19. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  20. Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

*Please note. Not all movies may be available but were at some point streaming on Disney+.

What is IMAX Enhanced?

On November 11, 2021, streaming service Disney+ added IMAX Enhanced to over a dozen titles from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. IMAX Enhanced on Disney+ offers more viewing area on “widescreen” 16×9 TVs, whereas other wide cinematic formats may present black bars (also known as “letterboxing”) on the top and bottom of the image.   

The new format allows the movies to be played, or at least partially played depending on the scene, in 1.90:1 aspect ratio — a format that is more square than typical widescreens but that allows more image area (up to 26% more) on a 16×9 TV.

The difference ends up being less letterbox black bar areas above and below the image than you would find in 2.39:1 or similar widescreen formats.

The good news is you don’t need anything special to watch IMAX Enhanced movies on Disney+, just a supporting device. The IMAX Enhanced format will play whenever the scene is designed to play in 1.90:1 aspect ratio. This includes mobile devices (phones and tablets) where the IMAX Enhanced version can be downloaded or streamed. 

To watch the IMAX Enhanced format look for a new section called Versions in the same tab at Extras and Details on Disney+ (see the reference screen photo below). There, you can choose from the IMAX Enhanced format or Widescreen theatrical format. Here is a list of the special IMAX Enhanced video format on Disney+. 

IMAX Enhanced and Widescreen viewing options on Disney+

See a list of 4k, HDR, Atmos, & IMAX titles on Disney Plus.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.