List of Alien Movies In Order

Alien (1979) film still by HD Report

The Alien franchise started with the original film Alien (1979) by Ridley Scott which took the sci-fi world by storm. The film would influence many science fiction and horror films that followed, including seven movies under the “Alien” stamp.

“In space, no one can hear you scream.”

Three sequels followed Alien over the next twenty years, Aliens (1986), Alien 3 (1992), and Alien Resurrection (1997) all led by different directors than Ridley Scott. However, Scott would return to direct Alien-prequel films Prometheus (2012) and Alien: Covenant (2017).

The Alien vs. Predator crossover films began in 2004 with Alien vs. Predator directed by Paul W. S. Anderson and its prequel Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007) directed by The Brothers Strause.

Here’s a list of all the Alien films since 1979 in order of release date.

Alien (main franchise) films:

  • Alien (1979)
  • Aliens (1986)
  • Alien 3 (1992)
  • Alien Resurrection (1997)

Alien vs. Predator (crossover) films:

  • Alien vs. Predator (2004)
  • Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007)

Prometheus (Alien prequel) films:

  • Prometheus (2012)
  • Alien: Covenant (2017)

Also Read: Aliens (1986) Is Finally Releasing on 4k Blu-ray